the place for life







ce Protection Authority	Meeting Minutes
Thursday, No	vember 14, 2024
6:00 pm	
ils: Council Cham	ber, Essex Civic Centre
Jim Morrison (Chair) Molly Allaire Peter Courtney Katie McGuire-Blais Dennis Rogers Thomas Neufeld Tracey Bailey Jason Matyi Ryan McNamara	Michael Akpata Anthony Abraham Larry Verbeke Joe Bachetti Tania Jobin Angelo Marignani Kieran McKenzie Sue Desjarlais (Vice-Chair) Dayne Malloch Mark McKenzie
Shelley McMullen, CFO/Dir Danielle Stuebing, Director Kevin Money, Director Con James Bryant, Director Wat Katie Stammler, Water Qua	e Services, Human Resources Manager/EA rector Finance and Corporate Services r Community and Outreach Services
	6:00 pm ils: Council Cham Jim Morrison (Chair) Molly Allaire Peter Courtney Katie McGuire-Blais Dennis Rogers Thomas Neufeld Tracey Bailey Jason Matyi Ryan McNamara Tim Byrne, CAO/Secretary- Nicole Kupnicki, Corporate Shelley McMullen, CFO/Dir Danielle Stuebing, Director Kevin Money, Director Cor James Bryant, Director War

1. Call to Order

Good evening and welcome to the November 14, 2024, meeting of the Essex Region Source Protection Authority. I will call the meeting to order.

We have regrets this evening from:

- Councillor Jason Matyi, Essex
- Councillor Ryan McNamara, Lakeshore
- Councillor Sue Dejarlais, Lasalle

- Deputy Mayor, Dayne Malloch, Pelee
- Councillor Mark McKenzie, Windsor

2. Land Acknowledgement

I'd like to begin by acknowledging that this land is the traditional territory of the Three Fires Confederacy of First Nations, comprised of the Ojibway, the Odawa, and the Potawatomi Peoples.

We value the significant historical and contemporary contributions of local and regional First Nations and all of the Original Peoples of Turtle Island - North America who have been living and working on the land from time immemorial.

3. Declarations of Pecuniary Interest

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

4. Approval of Agenda

ERSPA 23/24

Moved by Angelo Marignani Seconded by Larry Verbeke

THAT the agenda for the November 14, 2024 Meeting of the Essex Region Source Protection Authority be approved. **Carried**

5. Adoption of Minutes

A. Essex Region Source Protection Authority

ERSPA 24/24

Moved by Dennis Rogers Seconded by Peter Courtney

THAT the minutes for the September 12, 2024 Meeting of the Essex Region Source Protection Authority (ERSPA) be approved and the recommendations therein be adopted as distributed. **Carried**

6. Delegations

None

7. Reports for Approval

A. ERSPA 07/24 Appointment of Source Protection Committee Members

ERSPA 25/24Moved by Kieran McKenzieSeconded by Angelo Marignani

THAT Mr. Kirk Walstedt and Mr. Jason be appointed to the Essex Region Source Protection Committee as described in Report SPA 07/24 and further;

THAT Ms. Antonietta Giofu be re-appointed to the Essex Region Source Protection Committee as described in Report SPA 07/24; and further,

THAT Mr. Steve Simpson Sr. be appointed to the Essex Region Source Protection Committee as described in Report SPA 07/24. **Carried**

- 8. Committee of the Whole None
- 9. Correspondence None
- 10. New Business None.

11. Other Business

A. Windsor International Film Festival

Kieran McKenzie wished to acknowledge Katie Stamler for participating in the panel discussion at the premiere of the documentary film "All Too Clear" as part of WIFF this past month. Her comments and insights as part of the panel brought a regional perspective to water quality issues. With 150 attendees at the first showing and as many more at the second showing, her contributions were a welcome addition. The documentary (and related limited series) could likely be accessed through CBC (Gem) and/or TVO and is well worth watching.

B. Next Meeting

The next meeting of the ERCA Source Protection Authority will be held on at the Call of the Chair.

12. Adjournment

ERSPA 26/24

Moved by Kieran McKenzie

Seconded by Molly Alliare

THAT the November 14, 2024 meeting of the Essex Region Source Protection Authority be adjourned. **Carried**

Jim Morrison, Chair

Tim Byrne, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer